Subtitle timeslip

Begonnen von jaydear, Februar 24, 2021, 07:09:32

« vorheriges - nächstes »

jaydear

I've been using MKVtoolnix for a few years to add subtitles back into my edited files. I've always had millisecond accuracy with the files from TSD except when  I make a mistake entering the delay ::)  My editing method tells me the exact amount of delay I need to enter into MKVtoolnix. Since late last year I occasionally have big errors in the order of 1 - 2 secs yet playing the edited files shows no timing error. I'm having trouble tracking down the source of the slippage. I've tried some old versions of MKVtoolnix, but they all give the same result so I think something is tricking it. Has TSD changed any subtitle parameters recently?
The.Doctor is the ants' pants :)

Cypheros

The timing of the subtitle tracks has not been changed on TS-Doctor side, maybe on the broadcasters side.
Does this concern the DVB subtitles or the teletext subtitles?
Check the offsets in the settings under Settings/Options/Teletext/Subtitles .

jaydear

I think I have just discovered where it is happening. This is a simplified explanation: I use VidCoder, a Handbrake GUI, to convert certain problem files to the end format before I edit them. It looks like Handbrake is adding up to a few seconds of black frames to the start of these conversions, perhaps to cope with their IDR frames. That screws up my timings as you can imagine, so I currently think the problem is in HB not TSD.

jaydear

I'm still not sure how to identify whether srts are from dvb or teletext, but I think they are all teletext here. Always very ugly big blocky text on black background when watching the off-air programs. Don't really know though. I have TSD set to extract both types in ENG with zero offsets. I get [801] & [888] srt files from TSD and both seem identical.

Cypheros

Three-digit numbers are probably teletext subtitles. DVB subtitles are bitmaps and need OCR to be converted to SRT.

jaydear